Gay Advertisement #8: McDonald’s Targets Gays in France

I usually focus on gay marketing efforts within the U.S., but I couldn’t pass up this new commercial being aired in France by McDonald’s.  Here’s a rough translation of the ad courtesy of Daniel Extra:

Son (on the phone): Hello? I was thinking about you too. I was looking at our class picture. I miss you too. I have to go, my father’s coming back. Lots of love.
Dad: Is that your class picture? I used to look just like you at your age. Girls just loved me. Too bad it’s an all boys’ class. You would get lucky.

Doesn’t that just set your heart aflutter?!

The ad is noteworthy, because as far as I can tell, this is the first time McDonald’s has featured a gay storyline in an advertisement.  Commercial Closet has catalogued a few McDonald’s commercials, but none of them are overtly targeted to gays like this one.

2 responses to “Gay Advertisement #8: McDonald’s Targets Gays in France

  1. I think this is awful and we will be happy to boycott McDonalds!!!! What are they thinking????

Leave a Reply

